Jump to content


Photo
IMPORTANT

Ark Survival Evolved - How To Update



  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 01 August 2016 - 08:26 PM

Server is currently running: 266.40

 

How to update:

 

  1. Download the steamcmd client here: http://www.team-neo....ds/steamcmd.zip
  2. Extract the contents of the above file into the games directory. (Next to your ARK_Launcher-MP.exe)
  3. You should see a bunch of folders, "Engine", "ShooterGame" and now "steamcmd". (Please see the image above to see what your directory should look like)
  4. Open the folder steamcmd and run the file "ark_update.bat". Once you start to see messages like "Already updated" you can now close the window (if it doesnt automatically close)
  5. Run the game and you'll now be updated!

 

Note:

 

If your game closes after showing the Ark Survival Evolved splash/wallpaper screen then this means that your steam client files are not cracked to support the game. Please follow these steps:

 

1) if you have steam running, exit it
2) locate your steam folder (ex: C:Program Files (x86)Steam). rename the file appcachepackageinfo.vdf into anything else (ex: packageinfo.vdf.backup)
3) login to your fake account (a new packageinfo.vdf will be generated)
4) exit steam
5) Run AppID.Patch.exe. click the "Browse" button, select your newly created packageinfo.vdf into your steam folder. In AppId, put 346110 and click "Patch". Close AppID patcher
5a) if you have an error, try to add any other free game into your fake account
6) login to your fake steam account. you should now see ARK in your library. If you don'
t see it, you can still continue.
7) Run ARK_Launcher_MP.exe
8) In game main menu, click "JOIN ARK", select filter "Unofficial". You will see all available servers. Click "Join" to connect
9) when you have finished playing, Before using back your legit steam account, restore your previous saved packageinfo.vdf (packageinfo.vdf.backup) and rename it to packageinfo.vdf, or you can just delete the patched packageinfo.vdf


Edited by NeO_Anderson, 23 April 2017 - 02:25 PM.

  • 1

#2 NeO_Painwithin

NeO_Painwithin

    Godfather

  • Forum Member
  • 2,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, Ontario

Posted 02 August 2016 - 04:21 PM

I think im going to try this, i have heard alot about it but didnt wanna buy it because i dont know if its something i'll play often enough.

 

will probably try it tonight.


  • 0

#3 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 02 August 2016 - 07:57 PM

I think im going to try this, i have heard alot about it but didnt wanna buy it because i dont know if its something i'll play often enough.

 

will probably try it tonight.

 

yeah its worth torrenting for sure...game is quite fun XD


  • 0

#4 NeO_Painwithin

NeO_Painwithin

    Godfather

  • Forum Member
  • 2,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, Ontario

Posted 07 August 2016 - 02:21 PM

the supplied link isnt working for me.. well the link works but the get torrent button does not.


  • 0

#5 NeO_Wizard

NeO_Wizard

    Godfather

  • Minecraft Admin
  • 1,133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Steam:MagicMan3288
  • Minecraft:SeniorWizard
  • Youtube:Magicman3288

Posted 07 August 2016 - 08:31 PM

When i downloaded it different get torrent buttons did different things. One of the ones towards the bottom worked for me.


  • 0

#6 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 08 August 2016 - 11:27 AM

Yeah their website has like 3 'download' buttons whilst only one actually works and that is the 'get torrent' button in small text just below the description box alternatively just search for any ark evolved torrent and it should be fine to be honest.
  • 0

#7 NeO_Painwithin

NeO_Painwithin

    Godfather

  • Forum Member
  • 2,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, Ontario

Posted 13 August 2016 - 06:38 AM

been a crazy week! but im finally downloading it and hope to play this weekend, should see you guys there soon!


  • 0

#8 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 17 August 2016 - 11:08 PM

The server has now been updated to the latest version, please update your clients if you havent already done so :)


  • 0

#9 PBG Fikus

PBG Fikus

    Litterer

  • Forum Member
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 August 2016 - 04:46 PM

Goddamit, It's taking so long to update for me. Probably did something wrong..


  • 0

#10 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 18 August 2016 - 06:11 PM

Goddamit, It's taking so long to update for me. Probably did something wrong..


No it took me ages too so yeah it's probably fine. :)
  • 0

#11 PBG Fikus

PBG Fikus

    Litterer

  • Forum Member
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 August 2016 - 06:32 PM

Goddamit I did something wrong, had to reinstall entire game. 

Is this how I was suppose to unpack the rar file?

 

http://prntscr.com/c7ew7k

 

 

Btw, now since I uninstalled my ARK, what's going to happen to my ingame character does it save locally on my pc or in server?


  • 0

#12 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 18 August 2016 - 06:36 PM

Goddamit I did something wrong, had to reinstall entire game.
Is this how I was suppose to unpack the rar file?

http://prntscr.com/c7ew7k


Btw, now since I uninstalled my ARK, what's going to happen to my ingame character does it save locally on my pc or in server?


That image is correct and yes all your stuff is stored on the server and will be there when you get in. :)
  • 0

#13 NeO_Wizard

NeO_Wizard

    Godfather

  • Minecraft Admin
  • 1,133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Steam:MagicMan3288
  • Minecraft:SeniorWizard
  • Youtube:Magicman3288

Posted 21 August 2016 - 05:06 PM

Well tried to load up single player. Put in a username and clicked extremely low memory and this is what came up.

 

975870c531bc844e316201afa1d7aa88.png

Does that mean i have to fully redownload? or could someone just send me the missing file.


  • 0

#14 NeO_Painwithin

NeO_Painwithin

    Godfather

  • Forum Member
  • 2,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada, Ontario

Posted 22 August 2016 - 01:39 AM

http://answers.micro...bd53f922?auth=1


  • 0

#15 PBG Fikus

PBG Fikus

    Litterer

  • Forum Member
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 August 2016 - 11:22 AM

Anderson, when are you going to wipe this world, It's been a long time now. And I have a few suggestions if you're interested I'll send it to you inbox.


  • 0

#16 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 22 August 2016 - 12:09 PM

Anderson, when are you going to wipe this world, It's been a long time now. And I have a few suggestions if you're interested I'll send it to you inbox.

I have no plans to reset the world yet as to be honest it hasn't been that long less than a month lol and putting that aside there isn't actually a need to reset either ?

Sure there are a lot of 'stuff' built around the world but anyone that's inactive you can go and demolish their walls and take their stuff which is only a good thing ! So no real need to reset... Plus I think it would piss a lot of people off that spent time making things even mine for example I've only just gotten a really secure (I hope) base lol... Also your question should be posted in the appropriate section on the forum as its not relating to this topic at all ;)
  • 0

#17 NeO_Anderson

NeO_Anderson

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 2,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zion
  • Steam:NeO_Anderson
  • Youtube:anderson2005

Posted 22 August 2016 - 01:20 PM

Well tried to load up single player. Put in a username and clicked extremely low memory and this is what came up.

975870c531bc844e316201afa1d7aa88.png
Does that mean i have to fully redownload? or could someone just send me the missing file.


I assume pain's link will help you but to explain just google that file and download it manually placing it in the games directory will fix this kinda thing usually. If the file in question is part of a package of files then it would be better to install the package rather than each file one by one (this is probably pain's link that he posted to look there first) :)
  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: IMPORTANT

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users